Feature Friday: Kwesi Abbensetts

Kwesi

Kwesi

Brooklyn based photographer, Kwesi Abbensetts, has a portfolio that eludes the memoirs of an artistic masterpiece.  I’m really enchanted by his work. His shots capture the soul as if it was naturally born in front of shutters and lenses.  When I first saw Kwesi’s portfolio, I marveled.  Like a magnet, I kept going back.  His work is amazing in the fact that he successfully uses different eras as a backdrop; Kwesi is able to capture his subjects in their most natural state. We, as an audience, are able to feel the era without being physically transported.  With the swiftness of his flash, we are also able to welcome the present.   His style is non-conventional and thus unique.   His photos are transformed by color and also, the absence of it; they are the writings that sing about someone’s soul.  I don’t know about you but I can hear the sounds, see the sights and even smell the air in Kwesi’s photos.  Kwesi Abbensetts is truly on his way to inventing movable portraits.  Check more of him out here.

Introduce Kwesi Abbensetts

I live the life of a gypsy, embracing experiences as they come. I am based in New York City; It’s a big place that I think you would love (just don’t let the vices get the better of you). I am man of 33 years and still growing.  I am motivated by creating the next image, finding the next face, having accidents that happen to become gems. As a photographer, there is no limitation to the type of work that I can do- I do it all and I can do it all quite well.   It’s like a well trained muscle. My subjects come from everywhere; I offer allure and allure is an attractive currency. Who wouldn’t want to buy some from me! My name is Kwesi Abbensetts your dream catcher.

How would you describe your style?

I would call it cinema with one click. Nakedness without a naked body: innocence that brews spirits.   I can say there is no style when you manifest mercurial images.   It’s only magic to be enjoyed

Who or what has been your greatest fashion influence?

Truthfully my influence has been myself.  I have never ascribed to any fashion sense like its religion. I take pieces of what I like and I find ways to use it in my palette.

Which other photographer/photographers do you admire the most?

They are many of them, but mostly I look to the good ones and I steal the best parts without them knowing. That might make me a cheap hack then.   But then again that’s how creation continues- the other inspires the other.

If someone were to give you a disposable camera and said to fill it + hand it back to them the next day. Where would you immediately go to take some photos?

I would fill it with dripping beautiful women. Not naked women, just women that astound and startle your senses.  I will walk the street and find them one by one. Put them under the best light and click the shutter. Yes in that moment she will become naked.

What is your best attribute?

My eyes- that many never see!

Your work is so creative and able to capture many moods and emotions. Where do you get your inspirations?

I let inspiration fall out of the sky- literally. I can’t take it from anyone; it always has to be a part of me. Everyday I have a gnawing urge to create and so I go inside; I seek through all the rubble and heaps-somehow with a little patience I come up with stuff.

Which city, or location, inspires you the most?

Jamaica: so filled with natural beauty.

What is the best advice you have ever been given?

Plan your life, imagine it, work hard at what you love and the success will come. Oh add some smarts to it too.

What type of cameras do you shoot with?

I shoot with a Pentax

Favorite lyrics from a song?

Most are from Fiona Apple.

What are your future goals?
To become a bigger, and better, photographer; I need to make this money man, yes art and commerce.

Words you live by….
” What’s coming is already on its way”

Find More of Kwesi Click Here.

8 thoughts on “Feature Friday: Kwesi Abbensetts

  1. theglossyqueen

    i discovered kwesi about a month ago from another blog and the author of this piece is absolutely correct when she says ‘like a magnet, i kept going back’. that is exactly what has happened to me. for the first time ever i’ve found a photographer who creates more than pretty images, he creates art, that leaves a lasting impression within your soul. i wish him much success!

    Reply
    1. The Fashion Records Post author

      I agree. Kwesi is multi-talented. I looked over his portfolio and he has a lot of dynamic work that overcomes that uniformity (and often too common look) of photography. His use of art, and photography, is phenomenal and that’s what really makes him stand out.

      By the way, I was just looking at your URL. Impressive designs. Contact us to schedule a feature at jane@thefashionrecords.com

      Reply

Leave a Reply

